Skip to main content

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships - Malaysia

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarship Aid Programme Malaysia
Closing Date
31 July 2015 5:00PM

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarship Aid Programme Malaysia
The New Zealand Aid Programme, managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, is the New Zealand Government's international aid and development programme. Its mission is to support sustainable development in developing countries in order to reduce poverty and contribute to a more secure, equitable and prosperous world.

New Zealand Aid Programme Scholarships are for individuals from developing countries who are motivated to make a difference at home. Scholars have the opportunity to study subjects that will help with social, economic or political needs in their own country. The New Zealand Aid Programme is looking for people with strong academic or work skills, and leadership ability or potential.

Qualification types
New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships are available for the following qualifications:
  •     Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)
  •     Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)
  •     Masters Degree (1 – 2 years)
  •     PhD (3 – 4 years)
Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:
  •     Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
  •     Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
  •     Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.
For full eligibility details check the eligibility criteria page.

Preference will be given to candidates who demonstrate strong academic ability, leadership qualities, and a commitment to the development of their home country.

Preference is also given to candidates who are 39 years of age or younger at the time of commencing their scholarship.

Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to one or more of the following:

Agriculture Development:
  •     Agri-business management, agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management, rural development, domestic supply chains and distribution
  •     Biology, vegetable production, livestock/animal husbandry, crop management, sericulture (silk production), forestry, fisheries, aquaculture, agricultural pest management
  •     Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural trade, 
  •     Food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food storage and packaging, food safety
  •     For information about some qualification options click here
Renewable Energy:
  •     Geothermal, solar, hydro engineering and wind energy, renewable energy distribution systems
  •     For information about some qualification options click here
Disaster Risk Management:
  •     Disaster response, emergency management
  •     Hazard assessment and management, natural resource management, environmental management, geology, geotechnical engineering, water resource management
  •     Climate change adaptation, land planning & development
  •     For information about some qualification options click here
Public Sector Management: 
  •     Public administration, public policy and management, public sector leadership and governance, human resource capacity development, information management
  •     Public financial management, government budgeting, tax reform, public sector auditing, statistics, demography, political science, social policy
  •     International trade and business, trade facilitation, trade policy
  •     For information about some qualification options click here
Private Sector Development:
  •     Business/private sector management and leadership, small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) development, entrepreneurship, marketing, accountancy
  •     Value chain development, , logistics & supply chain management,
  •     trade facilitation, economics/ applied economics, business finance, commerce, industrial relations
  •     Tourism - Ecotourism, tourism management, tourism planning, tourism marketing
  •     For information about some qualification options click here
English Language Teaching
  •     For information about some qualification options click here.
How to Apply New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships - Malaysia
  1.     Check if you’re eligible. 
  2.     If yes, decide the type of institution and qualification that is right for you. For more information about studying in New Zealand visit 
  3.     Apply for an Offer of Place (admission) at your preferred New Zealand institution. For most courses you will be able to apply online.  
  4.     Once you have a confirmed Offer of Place, download and complete all sections of the New Zealand Scholarship application form
  5.     Attach an up to date Curriculum Vitae 
  6.     Attach your IELTS or TOEFL certificate, if required (for more information or if you do not have a current IELTS or TOEFL certificate, please refer to FAQs
  7.     Write and attach your two 500 word essays (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) and, for masters research and PhD candidates, your research proposal. 
  8.     Obtain three references (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) 
  9.     Obtain certified copies of all required supporting documentation (as per the requirements detailed on the application form) 
  10.     Submit 2 copies of your completed application form, with all attachments and supporting documents (including an Offer of Place) by the deadline specified for the scholarship type you selected and send to the address noted at the top of this page.
Pn Nureezan Binti Daud
Officer in-charge, Scholarship Division
Higher Education Sector
Ministry of Education Malaysia
Level 2, No. 2, Menara 2
Jalan P5/6, Presint 5
62200 W.P. Putrajaya