Skip to main content

University of Southampton (Malaysia Campus) Scholarships

Closing Date
30 June 2012

Scholarship Criteria
Entry requirements for Undergraduate Courses:

  • Good ‘A’ Levels or school marks
  • Engineering (AAB or AAA including Maths and Physical Science) 
  • Pass in recognised Foundation Programme (depending on the course)
  • IELTS 6.5/7 equivalent

Entry Qualifications for Undergraduate Courses:

  • Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM)
  • A-levels (UK)
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Unified Examination Certificate (UEC)
  • Advanced Diploma from a Malaysian College or University College
  • Australian and Canadian Pre-U
  • Nottingham Foundation 
  • Many other qualifications are accepted, please contact us for information.

English Language entry requirements IELTS / TOEFL / iB-TOEFL

  • Undergraduate programmes (Bachelors) 6.5 /  580 /  92 
  • Postgraduate taught programmes (Masters) 6.5 / 580 /  92 
  • Postgraduate research programmes (PhD) 6.5 / 580 / 92
Field of Study
Bachelor of Engineering (BEng) / Master of Engineering (MEng) degrees in Mechanical engineering from 2012.Within the MEng framework you will have the opportunity to further specialize in:
  •     advanced materials
  •     aerospace
  •     automotive
  •     bioengineering
  •     engineering management
  •     mechatronics
  •     naval engineering
  •     sustainable energy systems
Scholarship Amount
We are offering qualified students an inauguration scholarship worth RM4,000 for the first two years of your degree. When you transfer to the UK campus for parts three and four you will receive a 20 per cent scholarship, which is worth approximately £3,000 per annum.A £300 annual credit is available to all undergraduate students at our UK campus to spend on sports, the arts, public transport and a host of other services.Please go to for the latest information.

How to Apply?
Apply online at, the website for UCAS, the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service:
  •     You will be asked for an institution code name and number. Our code name is SOTON. Our number is S27.
  •     The application fee is £22 if you are applying to more than one university or college, or for more than one programme; £11 if you are just applying for a single programme at one institution. For more information, see the UCAS website.
For some courses, you need to request an application form directly from the Academic Unit. These include:
  •     All part time courses
  •     BA in Education and Training (Primary) with Qualified Teacher Status
  •     BA (Hons) Education and Training (PCET)
  •     Working with Children Foundation Degree
  •     Youth Work Foundation Degree.
If you are in any doubt about how you should apply, please check the relevant course pages for details. You will also find detailed course information in your prospectus.

Pre-University, Undergraduate & Postgraduate Scholarship Offers

  1. 23 April 2017: UEM Group Local Foreign Universities Scholarship for SPM Leavers
  2. 30 April 2017: Dermasiswa Program Pembiayaan Pendidikan Tunas Potensi
  3. 30 April 2017: Biasiswa Yayasan AFS Antarabudaya Malaysia (YABM) Scholarship for Form 5 Students Apply AFS Program
  4. 30 April 2017: Biasiswa Bank Negara Malaysia Undergraduate (Honours) Scholarships
  5. 30 April 2017: Biasiswa Bank Negara Malaysia Postgraduate (Master & PhD) Scholarships
  6. 2 May 2017: Biasiswa MREPC Local Undergraduate Scholarship Awards
  7. 2 May 2017: MREPC Scholarship Awards for Graduate Diploma of Rubber Technology
  8. 3 May 2017: The Astro Scholarship Award for Pre-University / Foundation / Diploma / Undergraduate
  9. 3 May 2017: The Astro Postgraduate Scholarship Awards for MBA & Data Science
  10. 3 May 2017: Skim Prihatin Pendidikan 1Malaysia (SPP1M) 1Malaysia Education Care Scheme
  11. 8 May 2017: Sarawak Energy Berhad Scholarships for Sarawakians
  12. 22 May 2017: Biasiswa JPA: Penawaran Program Penajaan 9A+ SPM 2016
  13. 30 May 2017: Biasiswa Yayasan Tun Suffian Cambridge Scholarship Awards
  14. 18 June 2017: Penang Future Foundation (PFF) Undergraduate Scholarship
  15. 30 June 2017: Biasiswa OCBC Bank Malaysia Local Undergraduate Scholarships
  16. 31 December 2017: Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional (PTPTN) Discount on Repayment
  17. Open throughout the year: Maxis What’s Next Scholarship for Postgraduate Degree/Diploma Programme
  18. Open throughout the year: Biasiswa Karangkraf Scholarship Education Fund
  19. Open throughout the year: Amcorp Study Grant for ACCA Qualification in Collaboration with Yayasan Azman Hashim Foundation
  20. 36 Scholarships for IPTA Undergraduate Students
  21. Throughout the year: Intel Malaysia Scholarships